Apply for India Visa

Indian Visa Online

The Indian Immigration department introduced a digital system called Indian e-Visa in 2015 for travelers. It is a travel authorization for travelers visiting India for holidays, Transit, or Business purposes.

E-Visa is a compulsory document for travelers from eligible countries and those who fail to procure Indian e-Visa can not be permitted into the country. The visa application is very easy and effortless.



Indian e Visa

If you are a citizen from one of the eligible countries and you wish to visit India, you must be applying for a visa to India in order to enter the country. The Indian government has made changes to its visa policy. As a result, the visa-on-arrival system is no longer available. 

Eligible national who wants to visit India for tourism, medical, or business-related purposes can get an online visa for India. However, for the purpose of each visit, there is a subcategory included in the Indian e visa application form. So, it is necessary to mention the purpose of your trip in your Indian visa application. 

The travelers holding Indian e-visas can stay in the country for about a total of 90 days. However, they cannot extend or change their visa type once the e-visa India is granted. Additionally, an Indian e-visa allows travelers to enter into the country via three seaports and about 24 airports that include Chennai, Goa, Mumbai, and Delhi, etc. Now we discuss about that how to get a visa for India?


Indian Visa Requirements

Applying for visas to India, the first thing you should do is to gather all your documents and necessary information that you will have to fill in your application for an Indian visa. However, there is nothing much to do, and it will not take a lot of your time to apply for a visa. Here are some things that you are going to need when you attempt to apply for an evisa India


Every applicant must have a valid passport with them at the time of the application process. Moreover, the e visa India must have a validity period of up to six months, starting from the date when they arrive in India. Also, you will have to scan the page of your passport that contains your information and upload it in PDF format along with your Indian visa application online.

Digital Photograph

You also have to upload your recent photograph. Make sure that it meets all the requirements mentioned in the e-visa application form. However, the format of the photograph must be JPEG.


You apply for an Indian visa online, so you clearly understand that you will receive your visa in your email and not by post physically. So make sure that you enter a valid email address. Nonetheless, make sure that you print out a couple of copies of your Indian e-visa just in case you need them.

Visa Processing Fees

For the Indian visa process, once you are done filling out your application on an Indian online visa, move forward to the step where you have to pay the Indian e visa fee. You must have a credit or debit card for this.


"key information about Indian e-Visa"

Purpose Tourism, Business & Medical
Visa Type e-Visa ETA
Stay  Maximum 90 or 180 days 
Processing Time 07 Working Days (Urgent 03 working days)
Visa Validity 01 year  - multiple entries
Passport Validity 06 Months +


India Visa Online Application Process

Here is the question arises that how to apply for Indian visa? Upon opening the application for a visa to India page, you will be able to see that there are three stages of the e Indian visa form. In the first stage, you will have to input your information, details of your trip, and information on your passport. Also, you will have to choose the application processing time and type of visa.

In the second stage, you will have to pay the visa processing visa and double-check your application to make sure it is error-free. Simply to say, a minor error can cause issues for you and might delay your visa. Also, you might have to repeat the process of application.

Lastly, you will have to submit the necessary documents to support the details you have entered in your application. Once you are done, you have to click submit.


Indian Visa on Arrival

Unfortunately, it is not possible to obtain an Indian visa on arrival because back in 2015, Indian immigration altered its visa policy and eliminated its service of providing visas upon arrival to foreigners, and introduced the e-visa system.


Electronic visa vs sticker visa

It can be difficult to choose your visa to India when planning a trip as there is a good variety. However, India basically offers two kinds of visas:

Electronic Visas

You can have the idea by name. These e visas for India are issued digitally, and they do not require a physical stamp on them. People who plan to visit India and stay there for a short time can obtain this type of visa. Moreover, e-visas can be obtained for business, medical, or tourism-related purposes. You can apply for indian e visa online by filling out an Indian visa online application and submitting the required documents. However, electronic visas are non-convertible as well as non-extendable.

All eligible nationals who want to travel to India in 2020 and 2021 for the purpose of tourism and do not plan to stay in the country for more than 60 days are eligible to obtain an Indian tourist visa.

Sticker Visas

This type of visa is given to foreigners who wish to have an Indian travel visa and stay there for a longer period, along with the added benefit of multiple entries. However, you cannot submit an online application for sticker visas. You must have to make an Indian visa e visa appointment at the consulate or an embassy to fill out an application form physically. These visas are valid for about ten years.

This involves a diplomatic visa, conference visa, employment visa, entry visa, emergency visa, journalist visa, missionaries visa, medical visa, e tourist visa India, a two-month re-entry permit, film visa, transit visa, student visa, and research visa.

India e Visa
Indian visa online
India tourist visa


Countries Eligible for India Visa

Antigua & BarbudaArgentinaArmeniaAruba
BeninBoliviaBosnia & HerzegovinaBotswana
CambodiaCameroonCanadaCape Verde
Cayman IslandChileChinaColombia
ComorosCook IslandsCosta RicaCôte D’ivoire
CroatiaCubaCyprusCzech Republic
DenmarkDjiboutiDominicaDominican Republic
East TimorEcuadorEl SalvadorEritrea
Hong KongHungaryIcelandIndonesia
MaltaMarshall IslandsMauritiusMexico
NamibiaNauruNetherlandsNew Zealand
NicaraguaNiger RepublicNiue IslandNorway
Papua New GuineaParaguayPeruPhilippines
RussiaRwandaSamoaSan Marino
Saudi ArabiaSenegalSerbiaSeychelles
Sierra LeoneSingaporeSlovakiaSlovenia
Solomon IslandsSouth AfricaSouth KoreaSpain
Sri LankaSt Kitts and NevisSt LuciaSt Vincent & The Grenadines
TongaTrinidad & TobagoTurks & CaicosTuvalu
UaeUgandaUkraineUnited Kingdom
United StatesUruguayUzbekistanVanuatu
Vatican CityVenezuelaVietnamZambia