Apply for Sri Lanka Visa

Sri Lanka Visa for Australian citizens 

Sri Lankan officials implemented the Sri Lanka Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) in 2012 to speed up the visa application process in order to increase the country's international presence. 

The ETA Sri Lanka is also termed an e-visa which can be applied online. Australian Citizens won't have to visit a consulate or embassy or wait in long queues when they arrive. The Application process is very smooth & easy.



eTA Visa for Sri Lanka Australian Passport holders

Sri Lanka is one of the few nations in the world that does not need a Sri Lanka visa for Australian passport holders to obtain a pre-approved visa upon arrival. The ETA makes pre-approval simple; however, the type of ETA or visa Australians seek depends on the sort of trip they will be performing as well as the amount of time they plan to stay in Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka Visa Requirements for Australians

Whatever Sri Lanka ETA option Australian nationals choose, they must meet a number of conditions before submitting their application. Visa requirements for Sri Lanka for Australian citizens are:

Email Address.

Valid credit or debit card/ Paypal Account.

Passport must be valid for at least 6 months.

How To Apply for Sri Lanka Visa? – Sri Lanka ETA

Do I need a visa for Sri Lanka from Australia? Yes, a foreign national who intends to visit Sri Lanka for a certain cause can obtain Sri Lanka ETA. The visa type mainly depends on the purpose of the applicant’s trip. However, depending on the type, tourism, commerce, visiting friends and family, work, and even education, applicants can simply submit an online application and receive their visa via email. Moreover, the visa type also decides the number of entries in the country, but the duration of stay and validity will vary. It's also worth remembering that obtaining a permit does not guarantee entry into the country. If border control or an immigration officer detects an issue with your visa or with you, you cannot cross the border, and they might deport you.

If you need to get Sri Lanka online visa for Australians, you must fill out an online application. You can find the online visa form for Sri Lanka on their official website. All you need to do is fill that form with correct details, pay the Sri Lanka Visa Australian fee, and submit the application.

Once you are done, you will have to wait for a few hours until your Sri Lanka Entry Visa arrives via email. Moreover, one must ensure to download a copy of their Sri Lanka visit visa for Australians in case the airport authorities and concerned officials ask them to show their ETA to Sri Lanka.


"Key Information About Sri Lanka Visa for Australia"

Purpose Tourism, Business & Transit.
Visa Type Online eTA
Stay Maximum 30 Days 
eta Processing Time 03 Working Days (Urgent 03-06 Business Hours)
Visa Validity 06 Months - Upon Approval
Passport Validity 180 Days +


Types of Sri Lanka Visas

There are three types of visas for Sri Lanka; in fact, Australian residents considering a trip to Sri Lanka can apply for one of three types of ETAs:

Sri Lanka Visit Visa for Australians

The Sri Lanka Tourist visa for Australians is the most common type of ETA, and it is valid for 180 days once given. This does not imply that the tourist can stay in Sri Lanka for 180 days, as the ETA is only valid for 30 days after arrival. The tourist ETA permits up to two distinct entries as long as the second one occurs within the first 30 days. 

Sri Lanka Business Visa

The Business ETA is valid for 180 days from the date of issuance. A traveler with a business ETA may visit Sri Lanka on several occasions as long as they do so within 30 days. The business ETA permits for a stay of 20 days in Sri Lanka before requiring a new visa.

Sri Lanka Transit Visa

The Transit ETA is valid for 180 days after its issuance. The bearer of a transit ETA, on the other hand, cannot leave the airport under any circumstances. The transit ETA permits visitors to stay at the airport terminal for up to 48 hours, but they must depart on their connecting aircraft before two days have passed.


*Note: Passports must be valid for at least 180 days from the date of arrival into Sri Lanka, regardless of the type of visa or ETA the tourist has.



Countries Eligible for Sri Lanka Visa

AfghanistanAland IslandsAlbaniaAlgeria
American SamoaAndorraAngolaAnguilla
AntarcticaAntigua And BarbudaArgentinaArmenia
BermudaBhutanBoliviaBonaire, Sint Eustatius And Saba
Bosnia And HerzegovinaBotswanaBouvet IslandBrazil
BruneiBulgariaBurkina FasoBurundi
CambodiaCanadaCape VerdeCayman Islands
Central African RepublicChadChileChina
Christmas IslandCocos IslandsColombiaComoros
Cook IslandsCosta RicaCroatiaCuba
CuracaoCyprusCzech RepublicDemocratic Republic Of The Congo
DenmarkDjiboutiDominicaDominican Republic
East TimorEcuadorEgyptEl Salvador
Equatorial GuineaEritreaEstoniaEthiopia
Falkland IslandsFaroe IslandsFijiFinland
FranceFrance, MetropolitanFrench GuianaFrench Polynesia
French Southern TerritoriesGabonGambiaGeorgia
HaitiHeard Island And Mcdonald IslandsHondurasHong Kong
IranIraqIrelandIsle Of Man
MalaysiaMaliMaltaMarshall Islands
NepalNetherlandsNetherlands AntillesNew Caledonia
New ZealandNicaraguaNigerNiue
Norfolk IslandNorth KoreaNorthern Mariana IslandsNorway
OmanPakistanPalauPalestinian Territory
PanamaPapua New GuineaParaguayPeru
Puerto RicoQatarRepublic Of The CongoReunion
RomaniaRussiaRwandaSaint Barthelemy
Saint HelenaSaint Kitts And NevisSaint LuciaSaint Martin
Saint Pierre And MiquelonSaint Vincent And The GrenadinesSamoaSan Marino
Sao Tome And PrincipeSaudi ArabiaSenegalSerbia
Sierra LeoneSint MaartenSlovakiaSlovenia
Solomon IslandsSomaliaSouth AfricaSouth Georgia And The South Sandwich Islands
South KoreaSouth SudanSpainSudan
SurinameSvalbard And Jan MayenSwazilandSweden
Trinidad And TobagoTunisiaTurkeyTurkmenistan
Turks And Caicos IslandsTuvaluU.s. Virgin IslandsUganda
Uk- British Citizen (great Britain) GbrUk- British Overseas Citizen (gbo)Uk- British Subject (gbs)Uk-(british Indian Ocean Territory (iot)
Uk-british Dependant Territory (gbd)Uk-british National (overseas Gbn)Uk-british Protected Person (gbp)Ukraine
United Arab EmiratesUnited KingdomUnited StatesUnited States Minor Outlying Islands
VenezuelaVietnamWallis And FutunaWestern Sahara